Archive for November, 2013


Video: Mono- “Dream Odyssey”

November 16, 2013

Travel through space and time with the calm, dreamy sounds of Mono. Much like recent box office sensation Gravity, “Dream Odyssey” follows the solo adventures of an astronaut adrift in space. As the camera zooms out, you can see shooting stars, meteorite explosions and the death and rebirth of planets. Not the most scientifically accurate video of our solar system, but relaxing nonetheless.

“Dream Odyssey” is the shortest track off Mono’s 2012 album For My Parents at eight minutes long, which is coincidentally the time it takes light to travel from the Sun to Earth. Catch Mono on tour in North America this week at the following dates:

Nov 15 – Toronto, ON – Legendary Horseshoe Tavern
Nov 16 – Montreal, QC – La Sala Rossa
Nov 17 – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
Nov 18 – New York, NY – Le Poisson Rouge
Nov 19 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s
Nov 20 – Washington, DC – Rock & Roll Hotel
Nov 21 – Cleveland, OH – Beachland Ballroom
Nov 22 – Chicago, IL – Bottom Lounge
Nov 23 – Ferndale, MI – The Loving Touch

J-Pop Moment: Shiina Ringo x Yasutaka Nakata- “Netsuai Hakkakuchu”

November 16, 2013

Shiina Ringo is celebrating 15 years as a solo recording artist with the release of several live CDs/DVDs this week and a special collaboration album. We’ve seen her videos with Towa Tei and Soil and “Pimp” Sessions earlier this year, but her collaboration with producer Yasutaka Nakata was one of her most anticipated tracks on this album.

“Netsuai Hakkakuchu” features a lot of the same EDM tricks Nakata has been playing with recently with J-pop idols Perfume and Kyary Pamyu Pamyu, including the random dubstep drop he’s included in every single he’s produced this year. However, it’s Ringo’s classic shibuya-kei vocals that make this song stand out. Plus you get to see her be a major bad ass in this video.

Ukina is available now at CD Japan and also includes collaborations with J-Rock favorites Mo’some Tonebender and Zazen Boys.


J-Rock Archives: October 2013

November 4, 2013


02 Alternative Medicine- Forever (CD Japan/Video)

02 Berserker Children Club- McmIXXXiX (CD Japan/Video)

02 Bradio- Diamond Pops (CD Japan/Video)

02 D.I.D.- Paranoid Personaliy (CD Japan/Video)

02 Earls Court- Ikaros ga Miteita Keshiki (CD Japan/Video)

02 Kitsune no Yomeiri- Shinitakunai (CD Japan/Video)

02 Knock Out Money- Paint It Out!!!! (CD Japan/Video)

02 locofrank- Signs (CD Japan/Video)

02 Milkbar- The Joshua Tree (CD Japan/Video)

02 Noise Maker- Double Color Sheep (CD Japan/Video)

02 Over Arm Throw- Will (CD Japan/Video)

02 Perfume- LEVEL3 (CD Japan/Video)

02 Plasticzooms- Cristal Factor (CD Japan/Video)

02 Roach- Get More!! (CD Japan/Video)

02 SECONDWALL- There is Nothing Impossible (CD Japan/Video)

02 tricot- THE (CD Japan/Video)

02 VA- V-ANIME ROCKS evolution (CD Japan/Video)

02 waterweed- Cicada (CD Japan/Video)

02 Yasuyuki Okamura- Viva Namida (CD Japan/Video)

02 Yoda Marie- Sorezore no Ten ni Tsuite (CD Japan/Video)

03 The Reminds- Subarashii Ashita (CD Japan/Video)

Read the rest of this entry ?


Double Video: bloodthirsty butchers- “Youth” and “Destroyer”

November 2, 2013

Earlier this year, bloodthirsty butcher’s lead vocalist/guitarist Hideki Yoshimura passed away. Luckily for the fans, production for their new album Youth was finished and will finally be released on November 14.

“Youth Parallel Unison” features the same stop motion puppetry we’ve seen in previous butchers videos. This one follows an aspiring circus performer who trains to overcome his fears.

“Destroyer” is a simple live footage video but gives us one last glimpse of Yoshimura’s powerful stage presence.


Video: Pay money To my Pain- “Rain”

November 2, 2013

Pay money To my Pain has released a new soul-searching lyric video for “Rain.” Some lines in particular are especially painful to hear knowning that the song was written shortly before vocalist K passed away last year. The band has decided to release their forth album Gene with K’s final tracks on November 13. It will feature guest vocals from Ken and Teru (Crossfaith), Kyono (Wagdug Futuristic Unity), Masato (coldrain), 葉月(lynch.), Jesse (RIZE, Jesse and the Bonz) and Taka (ONE OK ROCK).