Archive for September, 2013


Hotel Mexico Split Up

September 28, 2013


Hotel Mexico announced earlier this week that they have split up. Their last single “Out of Gravity” will be released in November on flexi disc from their hometown label Second Royal. Below is their parting video with scenes from their March shows in Los Angeles and Kyoto.


J-Rock Archives: August 2013

September 2, 2013

07 BiS Kaidan- BiS Kaidan (CD Japan/Video)

07 Capella- Kokorokeito (CD Japan/Video)

07 chaqq- Newdays (CD Japan/Video)

07 Hone Your Sense- Tri Jolt (Video)

07 HOTSQUALL- Place in the Sun (CD Japan/Video)

07 Kafuka- Kokyu exhale (CD Japan/Video)

07 Kaseki Cider- KASEKICIDER no ANISONG!! VACATION!! (CD Japan/Video)

07 kataomoi- Kataomoi in da house (CD Japan/Video)

07 kids- Issun Saki no Yami Datte (CD Japan/Video)

07 Lapis Lazuli- Blue Enough To Dazzle (CD Japan/Video)

07 Lightning- Raise the Sun (CD Japan/Video)

07 Monster Tairiku- Jyoriku (CD Japan/Video)

07 musiquo- 日比谷 (Video)

07 Neverlost- Believe (CD Japan/Video)

07 Point-Up- Paragon Street (CD Japan/Video)

07 Revolution9- Believes (CD Japan/Video)

07 Rokushiki- B X G X R (CD Japan/Video)

07 SISTERJET with DOTS+BORDERS- ”NEW QUAD” 2 X 2 = 4/very well L.P. (CD Japan/Video)

07 Seiichi Yamamoto- Lights (CD Japan/Video)

07 Space Boys- Love Will Grow (CD Japan/Video)

07 su xing cyu- Comicband Aho no Saisenten (CD Japan/Video)

07 syam- Mittsu no Kokoro no Egurikata (CD Japan/Video)

07 Yoshiharu Abe- G (CD Japan/Video)

07 Ueda Marie- Kokoro / S / Sa (CD Japan/Video)

14 The Dresscodes- Toriko Anime Outro Tautology (CD Japan/Video)

14 Sebastian X- Power of Noise (CD Japan/Video)

14 Silent Siren- Besan (CD Japan/Video)

Read the rest of this entry ?


Peelander-Z goes metal!

September 2, 2013


“Action Comic Punk Band” Peelander-Z have proven themselves to be kings of the the concept album the past couple of years with a children’s album and the space themed Space Vacation under their belt. On September 10, they’ll be releasing their tribute to 80s hair metal, Metalander-Z via Chicken Ranch Records. Recorded with era-appropriate guitar gear, Peelander-Z took inspiration from classic albums from the likes of AC/DC, Def Leppard, Van Halen, ZZ Top and Iron Maiden.

“Ride on the Shooting Star” is the lead single off of Metalander-Z, which they decribe as an “uplifting, coming-of-age, get-the-girl” song. You can download it for free on SoundCloud or with a remix of their “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” cover on Amazon.



toe’s discography to be released on vinyl

September 1, 2013


Topshelf Records announced that they will be releasing toe’s discography on vinyl this fall. The Book About My Idle Plot On a Vague Anxiety and a box set including all of the records have already sold out but the preorder for Songs, Ideas We Forgot is still live as well as last year’s release of The Future Is Now. Keep an eye on Topshelf’s Twitter or toe’s page for preorder information for the rest of the records.

Additionally, check toe out on tour in the US this fall.