Archive for the ‘Tokyo No Records’ Category


The Heiz on The Dave Dingwall Show

December 5, 2009

This is the funniest thing I’ve seen all week. And I’m not talking about The Heiz’s misunderstanding of the English language. I’m talking about Dave Dingwall.

Read the rest of this entry ?


Dir en grey and Tokyo No Records pre-orders

September 7, 2009

I’m sorry Eric Bresler, I didn’t want to give Dir en grey their own post.  Think of it this way, any post that mentions Dir en grey gets 10x more views.

Dir en grey- Average Blasphemy

-The End Records will release a DVD collection of Dir en grey music videos called Average Blasphemy on October 27, 2009.  The videos included come from the Marrow of a Bone and Uroboros albums.  Making-of footage and alternative cuts will be included.

01. Vinushka
02. Dozing Green
03. Glass Skin
04. Reiketsu Nariseba
05. Agitated Screams Of Maggots (Restricted version)
06. Grief
07. Ryoujoku No Ame
08. Clever Sleazoid
09. Red Soil
10. Vinushka (Promotional Edit)
11. Clever Sleazoid (Despair In The Womb version)
12. Agitated Screams Of Maggots (Despair In The Womb version)
13. Conceived Sorrow (In Weal Or Woe version)


the heiz- Self-titled

-Tokyo No Records will release the heiz’s first album this fall followed by a US tour October-December.

1. Don’t Let Me Down
2. Tokyo’s Burning
3. Black Pepper Girl
4. Out of Time
5. Monday Morning Blues
6. Please Don’t Cry
7. Wait Wait Wait
8. Hurry Up Baby
9. Tomorrow Nite
10. Ta-Me-Shi-Te-Mi-Ta-I
11. Macaroni Surf
12. Menthol Blues
13. What To Say
14. Keihin No. 3 “Koi-No-Daisan-Keihin”


The Questionmarks- Boo!  I’m A Ghost!

-As reported last month, Tokyo No Records will release The Questionmarks debut American album on November 3, 2009.  A US tour will follow in 2010.

1. Studying for an Examination
2. Boo! I’m a Ghost!
3. UFO Club
4. The Metamorphosis
5. The Ghost Left Town
6. The Fool *
7. Feedback No. 1
8. UFO Club (alternate version)
* US exclusive track


All three releases have been added to the 2009 US Release Calender.


Tokyo no Records signs The Questionmarks?

July 2, 2009

It’s been a while since we’ve heard from the TNR camp.  A couple of days ago, they left this cryptic message on their website:

We’re currently working with a brand new band…full details soon…they’re from Nagoya and they sound like this.

Which sounds a lot like “Ghost Left Town” by The Questionmarks.  I never heard of this band before, but I’m liking all of the songs on their myspace.  Hopefully TNR will seal the deal with them soon!


Random J-Rock Updates #4

September 7, 2008

Just wrapped up my second week of the new semester.  Not bad so far, even though I’m taking 18 credit hours.  I also just turned in my graduation dues, $125 down the drain!  Sigh…I’ve been forced to take 2 night classes this semester which means 2 nights off work a week.  My wallet’s just about empty.  It doesn’t help that the Christian bookstore by my house is going out of business and that they have such great deals on my Tooth and Nail bands!  I bought 8 CDs today alone, for about $20.  Might take me a while to get to the new Japanese music now…

parms (ex-DRUMKAN) will be recording their debut album in Louisville, KY with Kevin Ratterman this month.

-Sawao Yamanaka from the pillows is in a new band named The Predators with members from GLAY and straightener.

MUCC will be headlining 2 shows in LA and New York.

girugamesh’s self-titled album will be availabe at Hot Topic by the end of the month.  Their discography is also on JapanFiles.

TsuShiMaMiRe have a new song up on myspace named “Hyper Sweet Power” that has some connection with the Powerpuff Girls.  They are currently on a US tour.

buddhistson have uploaded studio updates.

New on JapanFiles:

girugamesh- girugamesh

girugamesh- Reason of Crying

girugamesh- 13s Reborn

LOVE PSYCHEDELICO- This is Love Psychedelico

Tokyo no Records pre-orders:

The Captains- I Love GS (10/22/2008)

Thee 50’s High Teens- Punch De Beat 9/9/2008

Various Artists- The Time Was Then Is Now 9/30/2008


Random J-Rock Updates #3

August 20, 2008

It’s been a while.

Dir en grey is now on Facebook and VampireFreaks. They will also participate in a 22 stop North American tour this fall.

Bomb Factory’s new album Moshing Through Tokyo came out in Japan and the US on August 19! You can buy it off amazon or these other places.

-School starts on Monday. GAHHHHH.

Tokyo no Records is coming back this September! They will release Thee 50’s High Teens’ Punch De Beat on September 9. A compilation called The Time Was Then Is Now will drop on the same date featuring tracks from the 50 Katienz, Mayuko Sakai and 7 other unnamed bands.

buddhistson is writing and recording their new album! They plan on releasing it January 2009. Should be epic.

Saw Loser have a new video update here. Who is the internet president?

-Looks like Cornelius’ album Sensuous is getting a rerelease with a DVD.